side-area-logo

History of
The Tides Beach Club

Grand Yellow Lady of Goose Rocks Beach

For well over a century now, the call of the tides and the lure of nearly three miles of wide, soft, sandy shoreline have been enchanting guests of the “Grand Yellow Lady of Goose Rocks Beach,” now The Tides Beach Club. Commissioned in 1899 as the New Belvidere by property owner Emma Foss, this grand Gilded Age inn – which hosted such famous visitors as Theodore Roosevelt and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle — was designed by architect John Calvin Stevens in the Shingle style for which he was renowned in the Maine seacoast towns of Bar Harbor, Portland, and Cape Elizabeth.

Through 117 years of changes large and small, this haven of gracious hospitality has endured and thrived, welcoming guests in traditional New England style. In the early 1950s, it was owned by the Allen family and was known as “The Allens’ by the Sea”; for nearly 40 years following, it was owned and operated by Marie Henriksen and her daughter, Kristen as The Tides Inn by the Sea. Then in 2011, the inn was purchased by the Kennebunkport Resort Collection, renovated from the top down, and rechristened as “The Tides Beach Club.” Among the updates sure to cast a spell are two suites inspired by designer Jonathan Adler, featuring private balconies and exhilarating views of the water.

Beloved by generations of visitors, today The Tides Beach Club honors its 117-year legacy of hospitality with classic architecture enhanced by a modern vibe and contemporary coastal décor, celebrating the unique natural beauty of Goose Rocks and the timeless ambience of the Maine coast.

Book Now Call us Email us